Spokesmen

Is it just me, or does it really piss anyone else off when someone afflicted with some sort of debilitating disease/disorder that said person all of the sudden cares about it enough to become a spokesman(or woman) for that disease/disorder.  It has always gotten to me and I find such people completly disingenuous.  Well, I take that back.  It’s not that I don’t think that person cares, but that it’s just completly self-serving.  Fuck that.

The most resent example of this I heard of (which prompted this rant) was Patrick Swayze.  After getting the horrible news of metastatic pancreatic cancer he all of the sudden cares about cancer.

I’m not asking everyone to care about everything just in case that something bad happens to them they won’t be labeled as an asshole by me.  However, all I ask is that people care about SOMETHING that doesn’t directly affect them (and maybe a few things that do).  I could go research some esoteric topic, but I’m not going to.  I’m trying to get into a neurodegenerative disease grad program so I can hopefully someday help people with their debilitating diseases.  This is not for any personal gain; I know no one with such a disease, but I care about the topic and know I can do something to further the research.  I’m aware it isn’t completly selfless, but it’s pretty damn close.

Anyway, I shouldn’t really pick on Patrick Swayze.  At least he doesn’t fall for any crap (he’s setting a good example too).

Leave a comment

Filed under uncategorized

Leave a Reply

