Growed up stuff

I am beat from doing grown-up stuff all day.

The new lab is becoming somewhat chaotic due to my presence and I fear it will only become worse.  I’m part of five separate projects right now, and I’m at a stage right now where I’m fairly confident in doing what I need to get done but still not sure how it fits into the larger picture.  My projects are sort of all over the place: check if there is heteromerization of a particular protein complex, validate and optimize qPCR primers, clone vectors to check protein-protein interactions (eventually), do a validation western blot for a supplement for an upcoming publication, and begin research for a review article.  That’s a hell of a lot of shit for a guy who has only been in the lab a little over two weeks and is on his first grad school lab rotation.

Essentially, I need a project.  Something I can do with help from the other grad students but is entirely mine.  I know enough to be dangerous and I’m intelligent enough to pick up what I don’t already know, so I don’t know why I haven’t gotten a project yet.

I certainly hope if I get one it isn’t one of those “be careful what you wish for” experiences.

Leave a comment

Filed under animal research, grad school, life, Those Other Sciences

Leave a Reply

