Dijon braised chicken thighs

Dijon Braised Chicken Thighs

This is easy, I swear. The only problem is that I don’t really use recipes, so writing one poses some problems. I’m also still trying to polish this dish so there’s still some issues I’m working out (like seasoning). However, it’s still a simple, delicious, and cheap dish that can absorb some blows and is easily adjustable to suit your taste. So keep it my way or change it, I don’t care, just enjoy it!

Reagents:
1T dijon
3-4c chicken stock (HOMEMADE, I take no responsibility if this dish sucks because you used canned or boxed stuff)
0.5 onion (or equivalent of shallots) – small dice
1 large carrot – small dice
3 cloves garlic – minced
1tsp thyme
(maybe a little cream)
2 slices thick cut bacon – small-medium dice
4-6 bone-in chicken thighs brought to ~room temp. (I deskinned them, but that’s just me)
1c dry white wine

Equipment:
Large frying pan
2.5-3 qt. dutch oven

Protocol:
1. Put the frying pan over medium-low heat
2. Add the bacon and render as much fat as possible
3. When rendered, remove the cooked bacon and reserve
4. Add the diced onion and carrot to the rendered fat
5. Cook ~5min and preheat the oven to 400deg.

6. While the onion and carrot are cooking add the dijon to the stock pot
7. Whisk in a very small amount of chicken stock (note: don’t add more than two tablespoons of stock to mix in with the mustard or it won’t mix in smoothly, trust me)
8. Add the rest of the chicken stock, the thyme, the reserved bacon (and the cream if you chose to add it)
9. Bring to a simmer
10. Add the minced garlic to the onion and carrot mixture in the frying pan and cook until just fragrant
11. Put the cooked onion, carrot, garlic mixture into the chicken stock mixture

12. Quickly season the chicken with salt and pepper then sear them ~2 min. each side just to get some nice color on them (may have to do in two batches)
13. Add the chicken to the dutch oven
14. Deglaze the frying pan with the wine – make sure to scrape up ALL the fond – and add it to the dutch oven
15. (at this point the chicken should be mostly submerged in the stock mixture, but since I don’t measure anything and you don’t have the same equipment I do you can add more stock to the pot to get the right volume. don’t worry, it’ll still taste good in the end)
16. Add the top and throw in the preheated oven for 1 hour

Serve as is, with a side of mashed potatoes, pasta, or whatever you like. Personally, I removed the chicken into a covered bowl and strained the braising liquid. Then, I took the solids, put them into the food processor and processed them until smooth then added them back to the braising liquid. I then cooked that for a few minutes over medium heat and strained it yet again so I was left with a luxurious and slightly thickened sauce. I then served the whole dish over egg noodles. Classy.

I’m gonna use this dish to bag me a new woman.

3 Comments

Filed under food, life, recipes

3 responses to “Dijon braised chicken thighs

  1. Mmmmmmmmm! Thank you. Love, Goddess

  2. Wow that does sound good. Seriously. A little complicated for my cooking skills. Wow. Just open a window and let that smell into the street, a new girl will probably break into your house just to chow down 🙂

  3. First, let me apologize.

    Second, let me just say I laughed out loud at Dutch Oven.

    We American’s are pigs.

Leave a Reply

