Amazing week

The week didn’t begin well.  I knew that I had to get as many hours in as possible since I was leaving Thursday night to got back to rural Michigan and see my family for the 4th.  That meant waking up extra early so I could be in the lab by 6 and start doing the monotonous task that is pipetting.  On top of it all it didn’t look like the data I had been collecting was all that good (a bit too variable to be of much use).  All in all it didn’t look like it was going to be that good of a week.

But then, just like out of a movie it began to turn around.  I found out I was approved for the rockin’ apartment I looked at last week which means I no longer have to worry about finding a place to live for the next two years.  It’s huge, fairly cheap, halfway between the two campuses I have to go to, has a full size kitchen, gorgeous wood floors, and is close to two modes of transportation. Chadwick 1, housing devil 0. (pictures will come eventually)

Then I go back to work removing and crushing up brains, extracting RNA, and checking transcript levels in a new mouse my lab developed.  Turns out the next few samples I ran tightened up my error bars and became much more convincing which made my current advisor and grad student mentor very happy with my progress.  If you’re not keeping track of the score it’s now Chadwick 2, pseudoscience 0.

Then I took a night off and spent it with the “wife/girlfriend/whatever she is now” at my place.   I made a simple dinner while we caught up on what’s been going on with our lives while having a few drinks.  It was just very nice knowing that I can still have a decent relationship with my wife after we eventually get a divorce.  It won’t be easy, but knowing us I’m sure we can pull it off.  Chadwick 3, disastrous relationships 0.

To top it all off my dad comes to pick me up Thursday after work (the busses and trains were all booked out of the city and it was a last minute decision to go home) and on the way back we had some amazing father/son time that was long overdue and I think really helped us understand one another on a level most parents and children get to.  I essentially got my father’s Christianity deconversion story and then shared how I felt about religions and…  well, it was just a very good and thoughtful talk that I feel made me closer to my father than I ever have been in my life.

And I didn’t think it could get any better, but I was wrong.  However, I’ll save that for the next post.

1 Comment

Filed under childhood, christianity, home, religion

One response to “Amazing week

  1. Wow!!! Congrats!! You must be puttin’ away your grocery cart or something, because your karma is wayyyy up 🙂

Leave a Reply

