Older and smarterer?

It has only been two weeks since school officially began and I’m already overwhelmed. Not that this is coming as a surprise to me considering this is grad school, but it sucks nonetheless. I’m only taking a single fundamentals course and doing a lab rotation (though I do spend at least 30h/wk in there) and yet I’m still overwhelmed. Guess that the way it’s supposed to go though, at least from what I hear from the older classes.

Honestly, as hard as it has been I’m having a great time learning massive amounts of new information and techniques. Oh, I’ll still complain, but don’t listen to it because I’m having a great time.

What I’m not enjoying so much is turning 26 this weekend. Each year passes more quickly than the last and it terrifies me to think that I’m going to wake up one day as a 30 year-old grad student who still has a fucked up relationship with his “wife” and won’t have anything resembling a decent job in his future. Part of what upsets me is knowing I am older than most of the people in my class, and the ones who are my age already have M.S. degrees. Could be worse though, I could be on fire. Guess I’ll just have to go to a dive bar with my friends tomorrow night and celebrate the inevitable; I’m getting older and there ain’t shit I can do about it. Awesome.

Leave a comment

Filed under grad school, life

Leave a Reply

