The gay gene

I was having a discussion with a friend at the bar the other night and the topic of personality came up. We were mainly discussing how much of it can be/is determined by genetics and I began wondering about the genetics of homosexuality. In particular, I just wondered if being gay was genetic or not.

In reality, I don’t really care if being gay is genetic. Gay people ARE people and therefore deserve to be treated with the same respect and dignity as anyone else, but my question still remains. I’m merely curious about how much of someone’s personality can be considered “genetic.”

I’m of the belief that genes don’t determine, but clearly influence, aspects of personality. (See what I did there? Being vague is what I do best) I’m still not sure of how to proceed with clearing this up in my own head. Any of you have legitimate ideas?

Leave a comment

Filed under social, Those Other Sciences

Leave a Reply

