Yay divorce!

 

I actually think I like this whole getting divorced thing. I’m going out more, seeing my friends much more frequently, getting more done in the lab, and just generally feel better. Of course, it’s not all sunshine and puppies, but it has been a lot easier than I expected it to be. I think getting back in the dating scene is going to be the most difficult part of this whole endeavor, but that’s bound to get easier with time. Hell, I’ve already had a drink with a really cool engineering grad student that I may be a tad interested in so I think I’m doing pretty damn well all things considered.

It may sound odd, but I feel bad about not feeling worse about my divorce. I know that was a jumble of a sentence, but I’m not sure how else to say it. Essentially, the split from my wife has been surprisingly mutual in just about every regard (almost Seinfeld-esque). Not saying it wasn’t brutal for three or four days, but I got over it quickly and both of us are well on our way to moving on with our lives.

This brings me to something a little odd that happened the other day. Another student in my program apparently split from his wife in November and just heard about my recent split. I’ve talked to this guy a few times, but not really all that much, and he’s a nice enough dude and all, but now he wants to grab a drink after work sometime this week. I’m really not sure what to make of that. I said I’d like to grab a drink with him, but I don’t really have anything to talk about since I’m quite happy with the way things have played out. I really hope his divorce was also a pleasant split and then we can have a laugh about how both of us probably thought the other was in dire need of consolation when that simply isn’t the case.

Oh well, only way to see this through is to just let it play out.

Fun times.

Leave a comment

Filed under divorce, life, marriage

Leave a Reply

